Laura Jane Grace @ City Winery, New York 


I have seen Against Me! play live more times than I can count on my hands. Conor, more than his hands and toes combined. Never have I seen a performance as raw and honest as the show at City Winery on May 25th. The show spanned over ten years of Laura’s musical career, in chronological order, and included journal-entry readings in between. Is there anything more intimate and soul-bearing than someone reading their journal entries on stage? I was on the edge of my seat, hanging on her every word, and trying to guess songs as Atom Willard kicked the drums…
For every over-heated, sweaty, sold-out show I’ve seen Against Me! play, this one stood alone. Not better than, or worse than – just different, unique, a true experience I felt lucky to share with everyone in the room.

Looks like she’s going to do it again when she plays Lincoln Center. Click here for details.

Leave a Reply

